top of page

History - Taylor Institute

The John Taylor Institute at Franklin University Switzerland was founded in 2010 with the support of John Read Taylor and thanks to the vision of Dr. Erik O. Nielsen, President of what was then Franklin College.


The Taylor Institute’s first Director was Robert Gebhardt who established Franklin University’s first graduate program. The first class in the Master of Science in International Management (MSIM) matriculated in 2013. Since 2014 the MSIM program has been directed by Dr. Corinne Young. In 2018 Carlo Giardinetti was appointed as Dean of Executive Education and Global Outreach and took over the helm of the Taylor Institute.

John Taylor has been a close friend and supporter of Franklin University since its inception. In February 2020, he was awarded the title of trustee emeritus by the Franklin board of trustees, with the following resolution: “Whereas John Read Taylor has been engaged with and supported Franklin University Switzerland and its predecessor institutions for 60 years with dedication, distinction and generosity, and whereas he served on Franklin’s Board of Trustees from 1973 to 2020, and served as Vice Chair of the board from 1976 to 1979, and whereas he served as chairman of the Board from 1979 to 1990, and whereas he served on the Fondazione Board from 1985 to 2018, and whereas he led Franklin to establish its first permanent campus in Sorengo in 1984, and whereas he led Franklin to adopt a 4 year Bachelor of Arts curriculum in 1986, and whereas he provided intellectual and financial support to create the John Taylor Institute, and whereas Franklin’s Trustees and Faculty conferred upon him the honorary degree Doctor of Humane Letters Honoris Causa in 2009, therefore let it be resolved in recognition that in respect of six decades of service to the institution and in accordance with the by-laws that the board of Franklin University Switzerland hereby elects John Read Taylor to the position of Trustee Emeritus.”

bottom of page